Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

Feedback

Free returns

-

£3.95 standard UK delivery

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The Homecoming

£2.49

Product description

'A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel' GILLIAN FLYNN on Andrew Pyper's The Demonologist EVERY FAMILY HAS SECRETS. It is only after their father dies that Aaron, Bridge and Franny learn how wealthy he was. But they must fulfil a request in his will to get any inheritance: spend a month in a cabin, deep in the mountains, with no contact with the outside world. Despite their concerns, they agree. BUT SECRETS CAN BE A REAL KILLER. The isolation soon makes them question what their father was trying to tell them. And why they have memories of the cabin, though none of them have been there before. The only thing they are sure of is that something is calling to them from the darkness of the woods. And before the month is through, they will discover just how deadly secrets can be.For fans of The Haunting of Hill House, Twin Peaks and Stephen King, Andrew Pyper returns with this gripping novel about the dark side of family. *** PRAISE for ANDREW PYPER *** 'Brilliant thriller . . . readers will be invested in the thoughtfully constructed characters. Fans of Josh Malerman's Bird Box will be pleased' Publishers Weekly on The Homecoming (* Starred Review) 'One assumes the book was written beneath a full moon . . . Pyper's petrifying imagination comes through in the details. The Homecoming creates a battle between the reader's faith in what they know about their own histories and the leery possibility of treachery emerging out of nowhere . . . Pyper's craftsmanship knows no limit when it comes to making the reader confront their own inescapable fears' Globe and Mail 'Weird, wonderful, audacious . . . Brilliantly constructed and absolutely mesmerizing, this could very well be Pyper's best book yet' Booklist 'Genuinely terrifying, don't-read-late-at-night stuff. Thrilling, compelling and beautifully written' SJ Watson, bestselling author of Before I Go to Sleep 'Pyper's style flips back and forth from gallows humour to Grand Guignol horror.you'll want to keep all the lights on as you read this one' Independent on Sunday on Lost Girls 'With impressive skill and confidence.Pyper has created an intricate puzzle, playing with elements of the courtroom drama, the detective story and country Gothic.As a debut novel, Lost Girls is remarkable and compelling. But more than that, it is a novel that goes some way towards reinventing the literary ghost story as a modern-day going concern' The Times on Lost Girls 'Sentence by sentence there's little to fault: the moody unease of small-town Canada is maintained and a creeping horror revealed' Guardian on Lost Girls 'A best-seller in the author's native Canada.it's easy to see why.extremely compelling' Sunday Telegraph on Lost Girls 'This is an excellently written novel, brilliant in its evocation of an atmosphere which, at first mildly sinister, progressively thickens and darkens' Evening Standard on Lost Girls

Item details

Author(s):
Andrew Pyper
Condition:
Used: good
EAN-13:
9781471178399
Edition:
Paperback original
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9781471178399
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
353
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster UK

Standard UK Delivery (£3.95 per order)

Delivery FAQs

Ts & Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 30 days.
Returns policy

About this item

'A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel' GILLIAN FLYNN on Andrew Pyper's The Demonologist EVERY FAMILY HAS SECRETS. It is only after their father dies that Aaron, Bridge and Franny learn how wealthy he was. But they must fulfil a request in his will to get any inheritance: spend a month in a cabin, deep in the mountains, with no contact with the outside world. Despite their concerns, they agree. BUT SECRETS CAN BE A REAL KILLER. The isolation soon makes them question what their father was trying to tell them. And why they have memories of the cabin, though none of them have been there before. The only thing they are sure of is that something is calling to them from the darkness of the woods. And before the month is through, they will discover just how deadly secrets can be.For fans of The Haunting of Hill House, Twin Peaks and Stephen King, Andrew Pyper returns with this gripping novel about the dark side of family. *** PRAISE for ANDREW PYPER *** 'Brilliant thriller . . . readers will be invested in the thoughtfully constructed characters. Fans of Josh Malerman's Bird Box will be pleased' Publishers Weekly on The Homecoming (* Starred Review) 'One assumes the book was written beneath a full moon . . . Pyper's petrifying imagination comes through in the details. The Homecoming creates a battle between the reader's faith in what they know about their own histories and the leery possibility of treachery emerging out of nowhere . . . Pyper's craftsmanship knows no limit when it comes to making the reader confront their own inescapable fears' Globe and Mail 'Weird, wonderful, audacious . . . Brilliantly constructed and absolutely mesmerizing, this could very well be Pyper's best book yet' Booklist 'Genuinely terrifying, don't-read-late-at-night stuff. Thrilling, compelling and beautifully written' SJ Watson, bestselling author of Before I Go to Sleep 'Pyper's style flips back and forth from gallows humour to Grand Guignol horror.you'll want to keep all the lights on as you read this one' Independent on Sunday on Lost Girls 'With impressive skill and confidence.Pyper has created an intricate puzzle, playing with elements of the courtroom drama, the detective story and country Gothic.As a debut novel, Lost Girls is remarkable and compelling. But more than that, it is a novel that goes some way towards reinventing the literary ghost story as a modern-day going concern' The Times on Lost Girls 'Sentence by sentence there's little to fault: the moody unease of small-town Canada is maintained and a creeping horror revealed' Guardian on Lost Girls 'A best-seller in the author's native Canada.it's easy to see why.extremely compelling' Sunday Telegraph on Lost Girls 'This is an excellently written novel, brilliant in its evocation of an atmosphere which, at first mildly sinister, progressively thickens and darkens' Evening Standard on Lost Girls

Author(s):
Andrew Pyper
Condition:
Used: good
EAN-13:
9781471178399
Edition:
Paperback original
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9781471178399
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
353
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster UK

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free, no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

We offer a 30 day no quibble returns policy. You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section. You have the option of a full refund or exchange for an alternative item from the range.

This item is also available for international delivery by airmail, carrying a mandatory delivery charge of:

Europe: £4.70

Outside Europe: £7.00

Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

Oxfam Bookshop Hertford

Oxfam is the UK's largest second hand bookseller, but it doesn't stop there. We sell a great range of donated music as well. Whether it's vintage LPs or the latest modern fiction you want, we're well worth a look! We also offer a range of greetings cards for birthday and other occasions. Call us to find out more.

Could you help us by collecting donations from donors homes? Our shop receives many offers of generous donations that we have to turn down as we do not have volunteers able to collect. We would ask you to collect in your own car, at your convenience and reimburse your petrol costs. It might be a couple of times a month and would make a really big difference to our ability to make money.

View Shop

You might also like...