Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

Free returns

-

£3.95 standard UK delivery

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The girl from Cobb Street

£2.99

Product description

She longed for a family of her own. Growing up in an orphanage on East London's Cobb Street, Daisy Driscoll never felt the warm heart of home. Forging her own way in the world, determined Daisy struggles to make ends meet as the country finds itself on the brink of the Second World War.Her fortunes change when she finds solace in the arms of Gerald Mortimer, a handsome cavalry subaltern in the Indian army. Finally, Daisy has found someone to love of her very own. But soon she discovers she's pregnant and fate was never going to give her an easy ride.Gerald is not all he claims to be and, as he leads her along a path of danger and scandal, Daisy must find the strength within herself to get through her darkest hour.For fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.The Daisy's War trilogy:The Girl from Cobb Street - Book 1; The Nurse's War - Book 2; Daisy's Long Road Home - Book 3; Each story in the Daisy's War series can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story - or as part of this compelling trilogy charting the fortunes of Daisy Driscoll.

Item details

Author(s):
Merryn Allingham
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
198x126x24
EAN-13:
9781848453760
Edition:
Paperback original
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9781848453760
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
367
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Series:
book 1

Standard UK Delivery (£3.95 per order)

Ts and Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 30 days.
Returns policy

About this item

She longed for a family of her own. Growing up in an orphanage on East London's Cobb Street, Daisy Driscoll never felt the warm heart of home. Forging her own way in the world, determined Daisy struggles to make ends meet as the country finds itself on the brink of the Second World War.Her fortunes change when she finds solace in the arms of Gerald Mortimer, a handsome cavalry subaltern in the Indian army. Finally, Daisy has found someone to love of her very own. But soon she discovers she's pregnant and fate was never going to give her an easy ride.Gerald is not all he claims to be and, as he leads her along a path of danger and scandal, Daisy must find the strength within herself to get through her darkest hour.For fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.The Daisy's War trilogy:The Girl from Cobb Street - Book 1; The Nurse's War - Book 2; Daisy's Long Road Home - Book 3; Each story in the Daisy's War series can be read and enjoyed as a standalone story - or as part of this compelling trilogy charting the fortunes of Daisy Driscoll.

Author(s):
Merryn Allingham
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
198x126x24
EAN-13:
9781848453760
Edition:
Paperback original
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9781848453760
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
367
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Series:
book 1

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

We offer a 30 day no quibble returns policy. You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section. You have the option of a full refund or exchange for an alternative item from the range.


Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

Oxfam Shop Aberdeen Rosemount Viaduct

Located in the heart of Aberdeen's historic district. Opposite the central library and a short walk from the His Majesty's Theatre. We are a team of dedicated and super friendly people who deeply care about the Oxfam cause. We have a diverse range of merchandise catering to a wide variety of interests and tastes. Feel free to drop in for a browse and have a chat with one of our team.




View Shop