Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

Free returns

-

£3.95 standard UK delivery

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The lace maiden

£2.99

Product description

The first novel in the brand new Smugglers Daughters trilogy set against the backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars on the Kentish Coast from bestselling author Evie Grace. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Poldark. Deal, Kent. 1811. The heart of the British smuggling business.'Deal is a godforsaken town where the streets are ruled by villains . . .'The Lennicker sisters live in a cottage nestled amongst the counting houses, shops and inns, where the smugglers plot and the seamen drink.When their father - a fisherman and smuggler - is murdered by a rival gang, the eldest daughter, Louisa, is forced to carve out a living by trading illegally in French lace. She will do anything to keep a roof over her sisters' heads, but what she truly desires is a way of wreaking revenge . . .With the threat of Napoleon approaching Britain's shores, the stakes couldn't be higher. One wrong move and Louisa could risk losing not only her sisters, but her life . . . Praise for Evie Grace 'Intriguing' Val Wood'A charming historical read that hits all the right notes' Woman's Weekly 'Heart-tugging saga of which Catherine Cookson would've approved' Peterborough Evening Telegraph The second novel in The Smuggler's Daughter trilogy THE GOLDEN MAID is available to pre-order now

Item details

Author(s):
Evie Grace
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
198x129x24
EAN-13:
9781787464407
Edition:
Paperback original
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9781787464407
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
378
Publisher:
Random House

Standard UK Delivery (£3.95 per order)

Ts and Cs
Delivery FAQs

Free returns

within 30 days.
Returns policy

About this item

The first novel in the brand new Smugglers Daughters trilogy set against the backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars on the Kentish Coast from bestselling author Evie Grace. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Poldark. Deal, Kent. 1811. The heart of the British smuggling business.'Deal is a godforsaken town where the streets are ruled by villains . . .'The Lennicker sisters live in a cottage nestled amongst the counting houses, shops and inns, where the smugglers plot and the seamen drink.When their father - a fisherman and smuggler - is murdered by a rival gang, the eldest daughter, Louisa, is forced to carve out a living by trading illegally in French lace. She will do anything to keep a roof over her sisters' heads, but what she truly desires is a way of wreaking revenge . . .With the threat of Napoleon approaching Britain's shores, the stakes couldn't be higher. One wrong move and Louisa could risk losing not only her sisters, but her life . . . Praise for Evie Grace 'Intriguing' Val Wood'A charming historical read that hits all the right notes' Woman's Weekly 'Heart-tugging saga of which Catherine Cookson would've approved' Peterborough Evening Telegraph The second novel in The Smuggler's Daughter trilogy THE GOLDEN MAID is available to pre-order now

Author(s):
Evie Grace
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
198x129x24
EAN-13:
9781787464407
Edition:
Paperback original
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9781787464407
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
378
Publisher:
Random House

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

We offer a 30 day no quibble returns policy. You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section. You have the option of a full refund or exchange for an alternative item from the range.


Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

Oxfam Bookshop Cheltenham

Oxfam is the UK's largest second hand bookseller. Oxfam bookshops offer a wider selection of books than most shops, from modern fiction and leisure interest to more specialist subjects, classics, and rare or collectable books. We also sell a good selection of Fairtrade food and greetings cards. Come and browse!

View Shop