Cookies on oxfam

We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience on our website. If you continue browsing, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all our cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more Accept

Free returns

-

£3.95 standard UK delivery

-

All profits fight poverty

Keep up with Oxfam's Online Shop

© 2015. Oxfam is a registered charity in England and Wales (no 202918) and Scotland (SC039042). Oxfam GB is a member of Oxfam International.

The glamour chase

£12.99 Out Of Stock

Product description

This biography celebrates the ups and downs of the career of musician Billy MacKenzie. Billy MacKenzie was found dead, at his father's home in Scotland, on 22nd January 1997. He was 39 and had taken an overdose of prescribed sleeping pills. MacKenzie was a maverick figure within the music industry, but his wild and mischievous spirit probably did him more harm than good in the end. As lead singer of the Associates, gifted with an operatic voice and a talent that seemed somehow otherwordly, Billy MacKenzie - together with his partner Alan Rankine - enjoyed a handful of top 20 hits in 1982. At the height of their success however, MacKenzie and Rankine split, chiefly owing to Billy's reluctance to tour. Over the following years, MacKenzie gained a reputation for his unhinged working methods, generous spirit and knack of squandering large amounts of record comapny money. His unique voice attracted the attention of Shirley Bassey, for whom he wrote "The Rhythm Divine", and U2's Bono. In the tradition of Scott Walker, Syd Barrett and Nick Drake, MacKenzie's tale is one of thwarted talent. The author of this biography has conducted more than 50 new interviews with MacKenzie's family, friends those who knew him.

Item details

Author(s):
Tom Doyle
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
197x127x17
EAN-13:
9780747543992
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9780747543992
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
256
Publisher:
Bloomsbury

Sold Out

We're sorry to say this item has now sold out.

There are over 100,000 more items in stock. Start browsing with our suggestions below.

About this item

This biography celebrates the ups and downs of the career of musician Billy MacKenzie. Billy MacKenzie was found dead, at his father's home in Scotland, on 22nd January 1997. He was 39 and had taken an overdose of prescribed sleeping pills. MacKenzie was a maverick figure within the music industry, but his wild and mischievous spirit probably did him more harm than good in the end. As lead singer of the Associates, gifted with an operatic voice and a talent that seemed somehow otherwordly, Billy MacKenzie - together with his partner Alan Rankine - enjoyed a handful of top 20 hits in 1982. At the height of their success however, MacKenzie and Rankine split, chiefly owing to Billy's reluctance to tour. Over the following years, MacKenzie gained a reputation for his unhinged working methods, generous spirit and knack of squandering large amounts of record comapny money. His unique voice attracted the attention of Shirley Bassey, for whom he wrote "The Rhythm Divine", and U2's Bono. In the tradition of Scott Walker, Syd Barrett and Nick Drake, MacKenzie's tale is one of thwarted talent. The author of this biography has conducted more than 50 new interviews with MacKenzie's family, friends those who knew him.

Author(s):
Tom Doyle
Condition:
Used: very good
Dimensions:
197x127x17
EAN-13:
9780747543992
Format:
Paperback
ISBN-13:
9780747543992
Number of items:
1
Number of pages:
256
Publisher:
Bloomsbury

Delivery & returns

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is Standard UK delivery is £3.95 per order, so you're only charged once no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

This item will be dispatched to UK addresses via second class post within 7 working days of receipt of your order. Standard UK delivery is currently free no matter how many items you have in your basket. Any additional courier charges will be applied at checkout as they vary depending on delivery address.

We offer a 30 day no quibble returns policy. You can find out more about delivery and returns in our help section. You have the option of a full refund or exchange for an alternative item from the range.


Volunteer listed

Wonder how this unique item ended up online?

Most of the second-hand items you see online have been donated, by supporters like you, to our high street stores. Each item is then priced, photographed and listed on this site by our amazing team of volunteers from across the country.

After you have bought your item, our team of volunteers package and dispatch it from the Shop straight to you or your chosen recipient.

All profits from the sales of our goods go towards funding Oxfam's work around the world. We rely on your donations to sell online so please keep the cycle of goodness going!

Oxfam Shop Inverness

A really great range for all Oxfam shoppers! We sell a variety of donated clothes and accessories, books, and homewares. We also sell Fairtrade food and drink and a great range of greetings cards. We offer a pick-up service for donations, please call us for more information.

View Shop